And Your 2012-2013 Hallstaff Is….

Welcome to Engaged Living! We are all so excited to meet you and have you in the program this year! Engaged Living is a wonderful program that really helps you engage in the first year experience here at Furman! Students live and learn together, and build lifelong friendships with those who participated in the program with them. We hope that you love the program as much as all of us do! Without further ado… your super fun hallstaff for next year is…..

Townes 400

ImageHey friends! I’m Morgan Hobbs, the girls RA for Townes 400 next year! I was in the poverty and ethics program last year and fell in love with the EL program.  I can’t wait to return next year to this great community! Get ready for a fantastic year! I’m an incoming sophomore and my hometown is Maitland, Florida. Can’t wait to meet y’all!

ImageHELLOOOOOO! My name is Michaela Barnett, and I am more than excited to meet all of you! I’m going to be a FRAD on Townes 400, and I was in the ECOS program last year. I’m a Sustainability Science major with interests in Spanish and Health Science, and I love gardening, cooking, and being outdoors. I’ll be in Greenville all summer long, working at Greenbrier Farms and interning with United Ministries.

Image

Hey guys! I’m Carys O’Neill and I’m going to be a FRAD on Townes 400 next year. I was born and raised in a small town in the south of England, but currently live in Kennesaw, Georgia. I am double majoring in history and anthropology, and was a part of the “Doing History in the 1950s” EL program last year, which was a blast! I am an avid kayaker, photographer and barefooter and really love to travel. I speak German, play cello and have a pretty awesome younger brother. I am so pumped to be on staff next year, and can’t wait to meet you guys. Hope you’re as excited as I am!
Hi! I’m Amanda Payton, and I’ll be a FRAD on Townes 400 next year. I’m from Lanham, MD and I’m majoring Sustainability Science. I am an incoming sophomore and was in the ECOS program this past year. I love watching movies, being outdoors and traveling to new places. I’m looking forward to being on hall staff next year and meeting all of you.
Townes 300
Hello! I’m Logan, from Tallahassee, FL. I’m going to be the  EL RA on 300, and I’m super pumped for next year! I plan on double majoring in Political Science and Spanish. I’m the manager of the men’s basketball team, and I love going to all the sporting events on campus! I’m an avid baker, and like to make the treats a good-looking as they are delicious! I love to dance and sing, but the dancing is more for fun than performance….. Also, I read. like a lot. I love classical literature, but I am obsessed with Harry Potter and the Hunger Games like crazy!! I enjoy watching movies, and since coming to Furman, apple picking! I love to paint my nails crazy colors, especially glitter! I’m a fan of naps and sweatpants (and slippers for that matter). I only read the comics in newspapers, and I LOVE HOCKEY! weird for a Florida girl. Anyways, super excited to meet everyone, and get ready for the most wonderful year of your life!!!
Hey guys! My name’s Caitlin and I’m a sophomore from Tampa, FL. I’m undecided in my major and was a part of the Poverty Studies program last year and will be apart of the ECOS environmental class this year! On campus I’m the “Freshmen Mom” for Shucker Leadership Institute and publicity chair for International Justice Mission! I’m SO excited to be FRADDING it up on Townes 300 this year! I can’t wait to get to spend the next year with each of you, and don’t hesitate to ask any questions!
Hey everyone, I’m Jordan Ellington. I am from Hartsville, SC/The Chattanooga TN area (I’ll explain later, it’s a long story). I am passionate about any animal you can think of, but giraffes and owls are my favorites. As a double major in Sustainability and Biology, I can probably rant about science for days… and please stop me if I do. I love hiking, riding horses, watching the most random movies, listening to movie scores, and curling up with a good book. I can’t wait to FRAD it up on Townes 300. So pumped! 

Hey guys! I’m Emma, and I’m going to be a FRAD on the wonderful hall of Townes 300 ladies! I’m a sophomore Sustainability Science major doubling with Environmental Chemistry and I was in the ECOS program last year. I’m originally from Winston-Salem, NC, which is where I get my love for Krispy Kreme doughnuts :). At Furman I’ve been involved in everything from performing theater to working with the Environmental Action Group (EAG). I love to play soccer, write poetry, go on hikes, read dystopian novels, sing, act, and everything in between. I can’t wait to meet everyone this coming year, and I’m so excited to be in the Engaged Living program again!
Townes 200
This is Alex Valis…. he didn’t write a biography, but is a sophomore from Rock HIll, SC. He was a resident on Townes 100 last year and will be the RA on Townes 200 this year.
Hey guys, I’m Peter! I’m from the South Carolina version of Florence, though I’d kill to be from the Italian one. My soul is kind of owned by the music department, but that’s okay. I’m a sophomore Saxophone Performance major. I like to run a lot and I like to talk (as you’ll find quickly). I like to think that I’m easily approachable, so get to know me (if I haven’t already talked to you within like the first hour. Did I mention the talking thing?)
Hello! My name is Manuel Hazim and I am a FRAD on Townes 200. I am from Atlanta, GA, but lived in Nigeria (Africa) for the first 8 years of my life. I am a biochemistry major and plan on going to medical school. I love to play tennis and go fishing. I look forward to meeting all of you when you get to Furman in August!
Townes 100
Hello! My name is Cody Merritt, and I will be the RA of Townes 100. I am a declared Asian Studies major, and my hobbies include playing video games, reading about video games, loving video games, and hanging out with international students. If you ever have a question ranging from video games to everyday life, I’m always happy you help. If I don’t have an answer, I will found you one! I look forward to imparting all the wisdom I have accumulated onto my fellow Engaged Livers. Be prepared: we have an amazing year ahead of us! See you all soon!
Matt Gilman is a sophomore, and will be the FRAD on Townes 100. He enjoys a variety of subjects, like Philosophy, Math, Psychology, Music, and Spanish. However, because of this, he is having a hard time deciding what his major should be, and thus is currently undecided. He also enjoys playing and listening to music, tennis, RUF, bowling, kiwi, Leonardo DiCaprio (mostly from his roll in the greatest film of all time: INCEPTION), Guatemala, the color yellow, and bubble wrap. He honestly can’t wait to get started with next year, so hurry up and come! (But don’t come early… you’ll get fined.)
Hey Everyone! I’m Allison and I am going to be the Engaged Living Assistant (ELA) this year! I will be in charge of planning all of the fun activities you will get to participate in! I am a junior from Chicago, Illinois and I am a Mathematics and Sociology double major. I will be in Greenville this summer doing research for the Mathematics department, and working as a summer RA. I was a part of the “Doing History in the 1950’s” my freshman year, and was a FRAD for Townes 400 last year. Outside of EL, I also work for Admissions, the Furman newspage, and tutor math.I am a runner, and competed for Furman’s Cross Country and Track and Field teams the past two years.  I also enjoy dancing, reading, writing and contra! My favorite memories from Furman are definitely O-Week and Homecoming, and I am super excited to compete in both of them again this year! I cannot wait to meet all of you!
About engagedlivingfurman

This page is for the Furman Engaged Living Program. It will serve as a way to keep EL students informed over the summer and throughout the year on things happening within the program, and to answer questions they may have.

Posted on May 30, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Chermanda Johnson

    I LOVE the EL staff! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

